Six Thinking Hats

The Six Thinking Hats technique, developed by Edward de Bono, offers a structured and comprehensive method for evaluating and refining ideas. It facilitates discussions by enabling participants to consider different perspectives one at a time, thereby enhancing effectiveness and minimizing conflicts.

How It Works?


Step 1

Explanation of Six Thinking Hats

Each hat symbolizes a distinct stage in the discussion, with participants adopting a specific point of view at each stage. The facilitator guides the transition between phases based on the group's dynamics.
  • Blue Hat (Management Phase): Determine the hat to be used and address questions such as: What progress have we made? What should be our next steps?
  • White Hat (Information Phase): Present factual data objectively and inquire about the completeness and reliability of available information.
  • Yellow Hat (Optimistic Evaluation Phase): Evaluate the positive aspects and potential opportunities of the idea. Identify its benefits and the beneficiaries, seeking logical support for these.
  • Black Hat (Pessimistic Evaluation Stage): Highlight potential difficulties, weaknesses, risks, and constraints associated with the idea. Identify obstacles and potential adverse effects.
  • Green Hat (Creativity Phase): Generate solutions to address the challenges identified by the black hat. Propose innovative ideas and explore alternatives.
  • Red Hat (Emotional Stage): Share feelings and intuitions about the idea without requiring concrete justification. Acknowledge emotions such as fear, anger, or excitement and observe their influence.
Login or register for free to get the full content.